Last Friday of 2011

Today I will go to work. If this past month has been indicative, some truly absurd events will transpire. It takes effort to remain positive, but over time I’ve heard it’ll prevent that whole stress-induced-death-syndrome that afflicts many of my ilk.

There is something to be said for reminding yourself that the people around you are humans with feelings: no one is just an accountant or just a boss or just a developer. Snapping doesn’t help. A calm demeanor and smile does.

If it is true that how we end one year is how we will live the next one, I want to be sincere and happy today. I want to be the best version of myself, not the one that flips people off in the parking garage and growls at someone who is just trying to do her (albeit annoying to me) job. I want to be the girl at the office who makes you smile, even when the whole project has gone red and the klaxons are blaring.

I’ll report back on my progress. If you’re a writer with a day job, do you have any special plans on how to approach this, the last Friday of 2011? If you’re a day-jobber who wants to be a writer, wouldn’t today be a good day to start that story?

 

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my newsletter!  

I adore and reply to comments!

4 thoughts on “Last Friday of 2011

  1. Well, even though I have a day job, I’m moving to another state soon. So I’m not quite sure how next year will turn out or even how to plan for it. But with all the different changes and events that have come about these past few months, hopefully it will lead to an exciting 2012. Both personally and with my writing.

    BTW, I’m putting together a horror anthology soon and I was wondering if you were interested in contributing to it. Sorry about asking you about it in the comment box but I couldn’t find your email.

    Like

    • Best of luck with your move! I moved to Texas from Virginia in 2007. I knew no one here, had no job lined up, and no idea where I was going to live. It’s all worked out wonderfully! I like to think my experience proves that luck favors the brave, but at the very least it proves that disaster doesn’t always ‘favor’ the reckless!

      I cannot believe I never added contact information! Excellent catch, Andrew. I’ll be correcting that today, but my email address is anikocarmean at gmail dot com.

      I might be interested in the anthology, but I’d need to know more about the time frame and what you’re looking for in stories (i.e., if you only want zombies or gory monsters, I’m probably not the girl for this one). If you could tell me more about it (now that you have my email address! *sheepish grin*), that would be cool. In any event, thanks for thinking to ask me!

      Happy New Year!

      Like

Thoughts?

