Marvelous Journey

I have big plans to share my writing with you! Over the next five years, I will produce seven fiction releases. The works include literary short stories and a series of  dark sci-fi novels. I’m looking forward to taking you to new and magical places. My favorite authors – Italo Calvino, Elizabeth Hand, Iris Murdoch – shared adventure and joy with me, and I want to honor them by passing it on.

Marvelous Journey

Marvelous Journey (Attribution Kata Links at 123rf.com)

My publication schedule is aggressive. I don’t write full time, and I don’t have writing minions to do my authorial bidding. I have so much (everything!) to learn about the mechanics of producing books. I want to attend book festivals, meet readers, and build authentic relationships with them. I want to help other writers by sharing what I learn – including how they can avoid the embarrassing mistakes I know I’ll make. I want to do all of that, plus keep writing new stories. It’s a lot to attempt, but it’s also an invitation to take a marvelous journey. There will be moments of discomfort, and of exhausted incomprehension. Sometimes I may wonder where I am going, and then I will need to lean on my own definition of success to be my guide. Everything I do will have to pass one simple test: does it help me become the author-publisher I want to be, and will it add value to your life? If either half of that proposition is not true, then I need to rethink my approach.

My journey of a thousand publications begins with one short story. I chose a project small enough to not feel overwhelming, but one that requires many of the same skills needed for the more daunting story collections and novels. It will be my crash-course in ebook formatting and cover design. Later this year, I’m releasing Stolen Climates as paperback. Not only is that a great opportunity for me to tackle the process of print formatting, but it also meets the needs of readers who asked for a physical edition. I can’t wait to get started on this marvelous journey!

 

-aniko

If you enjoyed this post, please subscribe to my newsletter.

I adore and reply to comments.

 

Tweet This: The journey of a thousand publications begins with one short story.

Click Me to Tweet!

“The journey of a thousand publications begins with one short story.”

16 thoughts on “Marvelous Journey

  1. Good Luck Aniko! I am beginning the same journey, and I too, am not a full time writer and have a very full time job. Are you planning on self publishing or submitting your work to publishers? I’ve read about the benefits of both, and am not quite sure which path to take. My writing schedule is not as aggressive as yours – but again, good luck!

    Like

    • Thanks for the luck! I’m excited for both of us, because I think this is going to be an amazing journey. I’ve tried submitting to publishers, but I got impatient with the wait time and form-letter rejection. I’ve also self-published a book, and I had fun with that – until I let my own self-doubt get in the way. This time, I’m also going to self-publish, and after a LOT of soul searching, I know it’s the right path for me. However… the right path for me might not be the right one for you. I think that whichever mode of publication you choose, the most important thing is that you feel good about it and have fun.

      Oh, and the secret to my aggressive schedule is that I have seven years worth of writing just waiting to be edited! I’m a slow writer, so after I work through that mound of work, things will slow down. 🙂

      Like

  2. What a lovely post, Aniko. You seem so excited and positive – and it’s catching! I’m sitting here smiling as I type this reply!

    I’d like to ask you to share one thing already – how did you set up your newsletter? It’s one of those things I’ve been thinking about doing, but have never got round to.

    Like

    • Mari, hi! Thanks for giving me my first topic to be helpful. I’ll post how to use MailChimp and some other tools to set up a newsletter, one that exactly matches the color scheme of your blog. 🙂 I’ll also include how to add it to WordPress.com (not as nice as for WordPress.org, but … workable).

      Thanks for your continued enthusiasm!!

      -aniko

      PS – Look for that post next weekend.

      Like

Thoughts?

